Organizational Structure

The Centre is an institution based at the Faculty of Business, Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Hamburg. The statutes of the Centre for Globalization and Governance dated March 6, 2003 prescribe the following organizational structure: 

Board of Directors

The board of directors consists of a minimum of three directors who are elected from among the regular members of the Centre for a term of three years. The board of directors issues proposals for research programmes and projects and coordinates research and other activities at the Centre.


Regular members are full-time faculty members undertaking research at the centre. The majority of members is based either at the department of sociology or at the department of political science. At the moment, the centre has 25 regular members (see members). Further members are persons undertaking qualification projects (doctoral and postdoctoral) at the centre. In addition to this the centre has 10 external associated members, researchers from other Universities and scientific organisations.

Junior Professors at the CGG 

In addition to this, two junior professors are based at the centre, representing the disciplines of sociology and political science, respectively.